Recipe: Wild Mushroom Risotto

Often when I go to one of my best friends I have to give him a present, most of the times a few ingredients to cook. The only reason is that I can benefit from it, can cook with him together and have a great meal. Yesterday I just had to give him a bag of Arborio rice. It’s no surprise I just wanted to eat risotto…

Mushroom Risotto

Ingredients (4-6 persons):

  • 400 grams of Arbioro Risotto Rice
  • 1,5 ltr of chicken stock
  • 1 onion (peeled and finely chopped)
  • 3 cloves of garlic (peeled and finely chopped)
  • 1,5 handful of cep mushrooms (dried, I prefer fresh)
  • Some other wild mushrooms (whatever you like, I used chanterelle mushrooms, shiitake mushrooms and some standard mushrooms. I prefer these to be fresh)
  • 1,5 dl white wine
  • 25 gr of butter
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • some fresh thyme leaves
  • salt and pepper if necessary

*Tip: If the white wine isn’t good enough to drink, don’t use it for cooking. This also applies when you’re making a stew or any other dish.

Steps:

  1. Take a pan for the risotto and sauté the half of the onion and half of the garlic with some olive oil. add the risotto rice and let it sauté with the garlic and onion for a minute. Deglaze it with the white wine.
  2. Add some thyme leaves to the rice and some of the chicken stock until the rice is covered with the stock. After adding the stock stir it a bit, do this every time you added stock. You’ll have to keep adding stock if it is completely absorbed by the rice.
  3. In the meantime prepare the mushrooms, clean them and try to make them all the same size. Take a frying pan and add the olive oil. Add the rest of the onion and garlic and sauté them. Add the mushrooms and fry them.
  4. The Risotto rice is done when the rice is tender but still has a bite. Just taste. Tasting is the key to this dish. When the risotto is done add the fried mushrooms to the rice and stir. Add the butter to the risotto and stir. If you like you can also add some fresh Parmesan- or Pecorino cheese.
  5. Taste the risotto and add salt and pepper if necessary. Take a nice deep bowl and scoop in some risotto. Garnish with some thyme leaves, your risotto is done!

If you are a vegetarian you can use vegetable stock instead of chicken stock. The risotto was a great success. Nice and soft, creamy and packed with flavour. This was the first time I made risotto myself. I will surely try some other risotto dishes in the near future.

3 responses to “Recipe: Wild Mushroom Risotto

  1. Great picture! I made a risotto with morels last week and posted the recipe. It was heaven!! Thanks for sharing this!!

  2. Risotto is one of my favorite dishes and I make it once a week. I like to think that I know exactly what a good risotto should look like…and yours looks parfait. 😉

  3. I love risotto and this one looks creamy and delicious. Thanks for the tip on white wine. Just yesterday I was wondering about wine and cooking. This gives me some indication on which ones are good. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

