Book Review: Cees Holtkamp – De Banketbakker

Cees Holtkamp - De Banketbakker

I’ll translate the title for the English readers first: “The Confectioner”. It is a book written by a classically trained confectioner and patissier located in Amsterdam called Cees Holtkamp. Too bad it’s only available in dutch for some of the readers. The book contains all classic confectionery dishes that I remember from my childhood. Tarte Tatin, Cream cake, Croquettes and Cookies.

The great thing about this book is that all the classical dishes I can remember are in this book. Recipes my grandma made on her birthday and shared with the whole family like the classic cream pie I mentioned before to cakes I saw at the local bakery I thought I was never able to make. It’s all possible now!

The book explains the basics. From simple pastry dough and almond paste to complete pies and classic confectionery dishes. All from scratch. For the Dutch speaking hobby confectioner or pattisier this is the perfect book to start with. It contains all the classics. If there’s anything wrong with this book, it’s the mediocre photography, but you can also say that adds to the classic look of this book. It’s a must buy.

4/5 points

Buy at bol.com

6 responses to “Book Review: Cees Holtkamp – De Banketbakker

  1. Pingback: Recipe: Holtkamp Shrimp Croquettes | Freshipe·

  2. I wish this book had an English translation! I only visited the Netherlands once during the years I lived in Europe, and I’m curious to learn more about Dutch cuisine, especially the patisserie. Are there any books in English you would recommend?

    • I’m afraid there is no English alternative to this cookbook. I’ve asked on a large Dutch bulletin board but they can’t find an alternative for a Dutch patisserie book. There aren’t any! 😦

      I’ve looked for some other Dutch cookbooks and I think this is a nice book to check out Click, or this one for the Belgian and Dutch cuisine Click. Especially the last one I’m recommending as far as I can see.

      If you want to know more from the Dutch cuisine please ask. I have some Dutch cookbooks from the 1930’s to the 1970’s, therefore I have a lot of old recipes. And ofcourse some hand written recipes from my mother.

      • Thank you so much, Axel! The book sounds wonderful. I’ll have to put it on my Christmas list–which usually consists almost entirely of cookbooks and kitchen tools.

  3. Sounds like a very nice book. It’s a pity there’s no English translation. I would have loved to have a copy for myself. I shall check out the others. Have a fabulous week!

Leave a Reply

